Testimonials

Thame Music Academy 5 out of 5 based on 17 ratings. 17 user reviews.
Thame Music Academy

Current Guitar & Ukulele Student
May 2017


My 11-year old son has ukulele lessons with Karl and electric guitar lessons with Simon. I am really impressed with how far he has come in such a short time and how both teachers tailor his lessons to suit his musical tastes and abilities.  So glad we found the Thame Music Academy!

 
Thame Music Academy

Current Guitar Student
May 2017



Henry thoroughly enjoys his guitar lessons with Simon. Simon has a fab approach at making the lessons fun and interesting. He pitches the lessons perfectly for Henry's age and ability, I would highly recommend Thame Music Academy for anyone who wants musical lessons!


Esme Humphries - Parent

 
Thame Music Academy

Current Singing Student
February 2017


Our daughter has always enjoyed singing but has always been a 'closet singer', not wanted to perform in front of anyone else! Having started lessons mid January she has flourished and now counts the days down until her next session at TMA!

We are so proud of what she is achieving and this is all down to her fantastic tutor who is patient and very encouraging.

We would definitely highly recommend the music academy!
Thame Music Academy
Current Guitar Student
February 2017


Having searched the area for recommended guitar tutors we happened upon Thame Music Academy. Our son, aged 9, began his lessons in January and the enjoyment he gets out of it it wonderful to see!

Simon provides fun and creative lessons and our son has already learnt so much over the last 2 months. We would highly recommend Thame Music Academy to anyone who wants to learn a new instrument!
Thame Music Academy

Current Singing Student
November 2016


I have always had a love for singing, right from when I was 5 years old in the school nativity! I have previously been in choirs but a few years ago I lost my confidence. After finding Simon at Thame Music Academy I have really found my confidence again and look forward to our weekly lessons.

Simon is a fantastic teacher, his relaxed but professional approach really puts me at ease and we have great fun at the same time! I would highly recommend Thame Music Academy to anyone!
Thame Music Academy

Current Violin Student
November 2016


My daughter had lost her confidence and motivation to learn the violin.  Then we found Thame Music Academy.  What a difference!  It's all smiles now and her playing has improved enormously, Thank you!



Thame Music Academy

Current Piano Student
August 2016


My daughter has been having piano lessons with Simon for nearly 8 months. She has already passed her Grade 1 piano in July which in such a short space of time is fantastic!
The lessons are fun with a few giggles and Simon is very good at guiding her through the music explaining every detail along the way.
My daughter hopes to carry on through all the grades and we are so pleased with how much she has developed. Her increased confidence is wonderful to see as she even played her Grade 1 pieces in front of the whole school!
We would recommend Thame Music Academy to everyone!



Thame Music Academy

Current piano student
April 2016


I have always wanted to learn to play the piano and to read music. I promised myself that when I retired I would find a tutor and do it. I am a complete beginner and have now had 8 sessions with Simon and I’m finding learning music challenging and fun.

Simon finds easy pieces of music to stimulate interest and I work on learning them at my own pace. Simon is very patient and seems to enjoy looking for ways to make the sessions interesting. He has a great sense of humour and I really look forward to each session.
Thame Music Academy

Parent - Current piano student
December 2015


My daughter, who is 11 years old, started piano lessons 2 months ago with Simon.
She has already made great progress and is playing tunes that she likes and enjoys.
Simon clearly relates well to his students and she really loves her lesson time and always looks forward to having a chat and chuckle with him whilst learning a new instrument!
Not only this, but he is also building her confidence through the time and energy he puts in and I have been delighted at watching her develop a new skill.
I would not hesitate in recommending Simon to anyone!

Thame Music Academy
Current guitar student
October 2015


Having retired two years ago I decided to pursue my life long dream of picking up the guitar.


I began having lessons from Simon at the end of September and his professional and creative approach has really impressed me. We have worked on chords, strumming and rhythm so far and I am really enjoying myself.


I would recommend Simon and Thame Music Academy to anyone!

Thame Music Academy
Parent - Current piano student
October 2015


My 5 year old daughter has been keen to learn the piano for the last few months. After getting in contact with Thame Music Academy I received a prompt and informative e-mail from Simon which answered all of our questions and gave us all the options available to us.


My daughter started her lessons just a few weeks ago and its all she seems to talk about! She can already read the basic notes and play two songs!


She is really enjoying her lessons and Simon is always enthusiastic and friendly, I would highly recommend Thame Music Academy to anyone wishing to learn a new instrument.
Thame Music Academy
Parent - Current guitar student
August 2015


Our teenage daughter has previously been taught by Simon. Whilst he was working away we tried another tutor but she did not relate to him nearly as well.


We are so pleased Simon is now back in Thame and we eagerly got in touch to re-start guitar lessons!


He picked up where we left off with ease and has progressed our daughter in only a couple of lessons so far. He is great fun and keeps her concentration throughout the session.


Our daughter has been practising almost every day which is a great improvement!


We would highly recommend Simon to anyone who wishes to learn the guitar.
Thame Music Academy

Parent - Current guitar student
August 2015


Our son has been hoping to learn the guitar since he received his first one for Christmas! We struggled to find a suitable teacher but recently we noticed Thame Music Academy was opening and investigated further.

After speaking with Simon over the phone I was confident that he would be a great teacher for our son.


We have had 3 sessions so far and my son has loved every minute of it. He already knows how to play the basic chords and two songs! Simon is professional yet relaxed and creative in his approach.


I would highly recommend Thame Music Academy!
Thame Music Academy

Current Guitar student
May 2015


I decided to have a go at taking up the guitar about a year ago, something I always wanted to do since childhood. I thought being a late starter, 32, that it would be quite difficult to pick up all the new skills you need to learn but I was mistaken.


Simon has been teaching me for an hour a week for the last year and I have really enjoyed the process. He began with the basics; chords, tablature and different strumming patterns etc. He was very patient and explained things very clearly.


Since then we have moved on to lots of interesting techniques and advanced playing. I never thought that I would be so competent within such a short time scale.


I would recommend Simon to anyone wishing to learn guitar. He is patient, light hearted and creative in his approach.

Thame Music Academy

Parent: Current piano student
May 2015


Simon has been teaching my 11 year old daughter piano lessons since March 2015. She had already achieved grade 1 piano but wanted a change of teacher.


After the first hour lesson I could tell she was very happy with Simons teaching and said it was great fun.


Since then we have been going for piano lessons for an hour a week and the improvement in knowledge, playing and confidence is fantastic! Simon has really moved her on in a short space of time.


I would highly recommend Simon as a piano teacher.

Thame Music Academy

Parents:Previous English & Maths Tuition Pupil
27/4/2015


We have known Simon Markland for over two years now. During that time Simon has been a tutor for our son. He was coming twice or three times a week to our house to teach English and Maths.


Simon is very talented teacher. He was always willing to come up with interesting and creative ideas during his lessons which made the whole educational experience for our son fruitful and effective. His lessons have been well thought out and well prepared. He had the ability to find the topics that he liked the most and this made the learning activity very motivating and interesting. In addition to this, Simon was concentrating and willing to focus on his strengths, which could only boost his confidence. He, all the same, was able to pick on the things that needed improvement and work on them with very good results. 


Apart from that, Simon is very well organised and hard working person. We could always rely on him and his positive attitude.  


Our son greatly enjoyed his lessons and we were pleased seeing him growing in confidence and significantly improving at school.

Thame Music Academy

Parent:Previous Guitar Tuition Pupil
27/4/2015


Simon has been coming to our home to teach my thirteen year old daughter for the past six months.  In that time she quickly acquired basic skills and Simon worked with her to find music that she liked, to encourage her to practice.  He also taught her how to look after her equipment and how to find additional music and support on the internet.


Simon is a very competent music teacher, and encouraged my daughter to have confidence in her ability.  He is very patient and engages easily with children and adults alike.